Indie Inspirations

February 13, 2011

Just a few minutes ago I was helping a fellow aspiring game developer fix her blog. She was working on making a page just for her inspirations in relation to her work, which I found really neat and special. It made me want to blog a bit about a few of my inspirations! Here are a few indie games that inspire me to follow my own ideas. 🙂

The first indie game(s) I would like to mention is “Knytt” and “Knytt Stories“. Both are 2-D side scrollers that have an emphasis on exploration and powerups/abilities. I love the atmospheric music that accommodates each game, and the environment feels really deep, even though its a very simple world. Developed by “Nifflas’ Games“, and you should definitely check them out!

The next game that I find really special is “Nidhogg“. Though I haven’t played much of it, I still love the way it’s presented and how it connects with the player. I believe it’s only a competitive game, and the point of it is to beat the other player by stabbing them with your sword and getting to the other side. I’ll let the images, and video’s do the talking for this game.

Next I would like to give special thanks to the “Captain Forever” Series, since they’ve taken up a lot of my free time. In the game(s), you’re a ship that needs to be built to destroy other ships. You do this by collecting parts of the ships you’ve destroyed. It gets quite fun and addiciting when you find a huge motha !@#$ing ship just ruin all your hard work!

I also really love some very popular indie titles like “Braid“, “Everyday Shooter“, and “Cephalopods CoOp Cottage“. They’re all deserving of some more recognition, but a lot of people already know what these are!

Please check these out!

One Response to “Indie Inspirations”

  1. Alberto Lemus said

    Thank you for those games Arthur, I’m going to try them myself, they seem to be very interesting.

Leave a Reply

